The Intelligent Transportation Society of California (ITSCA) is a public/private professional organization formed to foster the development and deployment of intelligent transportation systems in California.
ITSCA seeks to educate all sectors on the merits of technology in transportation and serve as a forum for industry-wide networking. ITSCA believes that manufacturers, service providers, technology companies, and end-users can all benefit from initiatives that drive the implementation and commercialization of technology in transportation.

ITSCA facilitates partnerships that advance efficient transportation systems, and with that, strengthen California’s presence as a world leader of intelligent transportation research, development, deployment, and commercialization. Our goal is to add value to our target constituencies that include transportation agencies, private industry, elected officials, and end users, and to inspire improvement in public services while promoting opportunities for private investment.

ITSCA is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3), private-public organization
ITSCA was established in 1994 through the collaborative efforts of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans), Project California, and the California Council on Science and Technology. Startup funds were provided by the US Department of Commerce, Caltrans, and private industry, and later augmented when ITSCA received a 3-year contract from Caltrans to continue its mission.

Since 2002, financial support has been generated from membership fees, sponsorships, and industry events. ITSCA is currently an autonomous and fully self-funded non-profit organization that enjoys significant membership increase each year! With our innovative programs and growing network, we’re on our way to becoming the premier destination for smart transportation information.


Board of Directors

James Dreisbach-Towle
James Dreisbach-Towle (President)
Senior Tolling and Technology Advisor
Gannett Flemin
Gary Carlin
Gary Carlin
Director of Business Development
Carlos Ortiz
Chief Operating Officer
David Man
David Man
Division Chief, Traffic Operations
Jim Misener
Jim Misener
Senior Director, Product Management
Global V2X Ecosystem Lead
Monica Castellanos PNG
Monica Castellanos
Tolling & Emerging Mobility Solutions Consultant
HNTB Corporation
Shrota Sharma
Shrota Sharma
Principal Transportation Planner
LA Metro

Senior Advisers

Ben McKeever pic scaled
Ben McKeever
headshot JaneWhite min
Jane White
headshot MelissaHewitt min
Melissa Hewitt
Steven Gota

Committees Leadership

James Dreisbach-Towle
Kenny Chao
Katherine Mertz (interim)
Nominating Board
Gary Carlin
Northern California
Alyssa Phaneuf
Southern California

Operating Committees

Networks with existing and new members for yearly renewals and benefits of membership.
Victor Koo | Chair
Northern CA Section
Organizes luncheons, seminars & joint partner events in the Northern California region.
Gary Carlin | Chair
Southern CA Section
Organizes luncheons, seminars & joint partner events in the Southern California region.
Alyssa Phaneuf | Chair
Strategizes on potential partnerships & interfaces with partners on joint activities.
Carlos Ortiz | Chair
Events & Annual Meeting
Plans & executes all aspects of Annual Conference production and other large events.
Katherine Mertz | Chair
Awards & Scholarship
Plans & advertises scholarship opportunities and evaluates/awards winners each year.
Jim Misener | Chair
Oversees social media & email communications to ITS contacts to promote events & news.
Aravind Kailas | Chair
Oversees ITSCA website updates to promote events & news.
Steven Bradley | Chair
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Develops actions to promote diversity, equity & inclusion in the ITS community.
Monica Castellanos | Co-Chair
Natasha Walia | Co-Chair
Dan Lukasik | Chair
ITS America Liaison
Steven Bradley | Chair
YPG Advisory
TBD | Chair